Recipe of the Week: Pesto, Sriracha Shrimp, & Basil

I must admit that I wasn’t able to cook my recipe of the week. I know, I know…big time slacker right here. To my defense we had our family Easter dinner today since I will be heading back to Florida on Friday. Since we had a HUGE dinner consisting of honey glazed ham, turkey breast, stuffing, cheesy potatoes, green beans, and hawaiian rolls, I decided that I will post about my recipe of the week today, but make it later this week and post pictures of my creation then! I hope you all won’t be too disappointed 🙂

This week’s recipe is a quick and easy appetizer. There is no recipe attached to it, since the original source is a photo from Instagram by dgavazzi. I assume that this Instagrammer had a delicious bite at a trendy restaurant and posted food pics like I do so often! Since there is no recipe, I am making up my own and I will let you know how it turns out the moment I make them!

sriracha shrimp

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb deveined, tail-off uncooked shrimp
  • 1 Tbsp. Sriracha hot sauce
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1 loaf crusty french baguette, cut into 1/2 inch slices
  • 1 jar prepared pesto (or use your favorite homemade recipe!)
  • fresh basil, torn – for garnish

Directions:

  1. In a gallon sized zip-top bag, combine shrimp with Sriracha, honey, and lime juice. Shake to mix ingredients. Marinate for 15-20 minutes in the fridge.
  2. Heat a nonstick pan over medium heat. Add in 1 Tbsp. butter and stir until melted.
  3. Drizzle baguette slices with olive oil. Place bread oil-side down into buttered pan and cook just until bread is crispy. Continue crisping bread until all slices are toasted, adding more butter to pan as necessary.
  4. Top each slice of bread with 1-2 Tbsp. prepared pesto.
  5. In the same pan that you toasted the bread, lightly oil the bottom of the pan and cook shrimp (in remaining marinade) until shrimp is pink and cooked through, about 5-7 minutes.
  6. Top each bruschetta with a cooked Sriracha shrimp and a small drizzle of sauce. Place a piece of torn basil on top or side of bruschetta and plate!

DSCN0397DSCN0398DSCN0399

DSCN0400 DSCN0401

Leave a Reply

