Easter Lunch and Zucchini Muffins

Happy Easter everyone!! I hope the Easter bunny visited you all and left lots of goodies in his path – Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs anyone?! YUM!

Since one of my roomies went home to GA for the holiday and my other roomie had duty today, Atlas and I just hung out, went to the dog park, and did some much needed relaxing. We are, however, having friends over for Easter Monday lunch! I promise I’ll take pictures tomorrow, but in the name of freshness, I didn’t want to make my week’s recipe until tomorrow. I promise to take pictures and re-post them tomorrow!!

This week I’m trying out Zucchini Muffins. Now I must make a confession…I’ve never had zucchini bread of any kind before. I know, I know! Crazy, right?! I hear so many people rave about zucchini bread in all forms, but until recently, I was too afraid to try zucchini! Now I can’t get enough of the stuff! We’re talking zucchini fries, zucchini Hibachi-style, zucchini chips…and now (hopefully) zucchini muffins!

I’ve been trying my best to eat healthy and mainly produce based. I’m hoping that these zucchini muffins, coming in at just under 150 calories per muffin, will curb my sweet tooth and add some more nutrients to my diet! Now onto the recipe:

fresh-zucchini-muffins-400x400

Fresh Zucchini Muffins from Healthy Cooking on the Cheap

Makes about 12 muffins

1.5 cups all-purpose flour (I’m going to use Whole Wheat for some added fiber!)
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1.5 cups grated zucchini (about 2 small to medium-size zucc’s)
1/2 tsp. salt
2 eggs
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. vanilla extract (or vanilla paste)
1/3 cup canola oil
2 tsp. baking powder
Cinnamon and sugar for topping

1. Preheat oven to 375. In large bowl, whisk together flour, sugars, salt, baking powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Set aside.

2. In medium bowl, combine grated zucchini, eggs, vanilla, and oil. Stir well to combine, then gently stir into flour mixture. Be careful not to overwork this—it will lead to dense muffins!

3. Fill lined muffin tins about 3/4 of the way up with the batter and then sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on each. Bake for about 30 minutes or until golden.

UPDATE ALERT!!!

Zucchini Muffins turned into me trying out my new mini donut pan = Mini Zucchini Donuts!

548950_10102838494875435_2116504381_n

Atlas’s sensitive tummy = Wheat/Corn-Free Pumpkin Treats (even a few with his name!)

558845_10102838794275435_248227912_n 164603_10102838799754455_2015323133_n

Easter Lunch/Dinner
Note: Chickie Cupcakes + Colored Deviled Eggs made by the wonderful Lindsey and cheese tray courtesy of my lovely roomie Cait!

image image(2)

image(3) image(1)

Just for fun = Corn Chowder

73136_10102839531208615_1839760559_n

Leave a Reply

