Recipe of the Week: Carnitas!

The academy of Young Working Adults (a.k.a. my roommates and friends) gives this recipe 6 thumbs up! Carnitas are essentially shredded pork cooked with a slight spice. I took my inspiration from my favorite taco restaurant, TacoLu, and braised my pork in Coca-Cola and Orange Juice.

The recipe is similar to the Osso Buco, but used pork butt, thyme, savory, and crushed red pepper flakes. It turned out delicious! Here’s how it started:

IMG_1683IMG_1684

I chopped all of the veggies roughly (size doesn’t matter because you’ll discard them later) and cut up the pork butt into 1.5″ slices like this:

IMG_1685

Then I seared the pork in olive oil and butter in our trusty Dutch Oven. After that, I removed the pork and cooked the veggies until caramelized. I place the pork back on top, covered with 1 cup Cola and 1 cup O.J. and put it in a 325 degree oven for an hour. After the hour, I turned the pork and cooked another hour. Once the cooking was through, I removed the pork and shredded it on a plate. I used a slotted spoon to remove the veggies and left the cooking liquid, which would help keep the pork moist once I put it back in the Dutch Oven.

To serve, place some Carnitas onto a tortilla with a little avocado, salsa, queso fresco, cabbage, and chipotle crema and you’re ready to eat!

Try it out and let me know how you liked it!!

Leave a Reply

