Fitness in Your Everyday Routine

I’m a busy person. I’m sure you are too! I’m a little different, though, in the fact that Fridays are my busiest day of the week. You see, my students run a restaurant for staff members every Friday, so it’s a day full of food prep and dining room service.

Besides school, today will be a busy day because the move is tomorrow and Jeff gets in town around 11 p.m.! Yippee!

All I keep thinking is when I’m going to be able to find time for a workout….and I need to workout today because I just ate two Pop-Tarts for breakfast since I was out of milk and couldn’t make my Breakfast Shake….whoops!

Here’s what my schedule looks like for today to give you an idea of what I mean:

5 a.m. – wake up, get ready for the day (both me and Atlas)
5:30 a.m. – leave the house for work
6:10 a.m. – get to work, start preparing and setting up for today’s lessons
7:20 a.m. – First Period: teaching Teamwork and Leadership review
8:20 a.m. – Second Period: same as last period
9:18 a.m. – Third Period: planning/preparing for the restaurant
10:14 a.m. – Fourth Period: upper levels come in and finish prep for the restaurant
11:10 a.m. – Fifth Period: upper levels come in and begin running restaurant – commence running around like a chicken with head cut off…
12:50 p.m. – Sixth Period: clean up crew gets to class and cleans kitchen/dining room top to bottom
1:40 p.m. – school day is over. Time to update grades, scan next week’s lessons, tidy up my room, check to make sure the kitchen is completely clean and everything is turned off
2:30 p.m. – arrive home to an excited, energetic puppy who needs to use the bathroom immediately. Take him for a short walk as well.
3:00 p.m. – Time to go to the Puppy Park to burn off some of that energy!
4:30 p.m. – Play time with friends at the dog park in our apartment complex (yes, he gets to go to two parks every day! The dog’s got a TON of energy and I still need to pack!!)
5:00 p.m. – Dinner time for Atlas and indoor play time
6:00 p.m. – Make dinner and eat
7:00 p.m. – start packing…realize I have somehow accumulated more things…no, wait…just need to reorganize bins…
9:00 p.m. – Atlas’s bed time. Cuddling ensues. Shower.
9:30 p.m. – Keep packing/organizing/cleaning up
10:30 p.m. – Go to airport to pick up the hubs. Blissful ❤
11:30 p.m. – Back home, crash on the couch.

So now you see my problem. A packed day with little, if any, time to get in a solid forty minute workout. I’m sure that many of you see yourself in the same situation on a daily basis, especially if you have kids! Here’s my solution to days like these: fit it in where you can!

Chasing Atlas at the Puppy Park? Burns 100 calories in 20 minutes
Calf raises while standing and monitoring my classes? Burns 150 calories over the course of the day

Running stairs with the puppy to help wear him out? Burns 100 calories over 10 minutes

Crunches while throwing toys for Atlas to fetch? Burns 100 calories in 20 minutes

And there you go! Pop-Tarts be gone! Think of the little time spaces you have in your day and use them wisely. Calf raises, chair dips, squats, and power walking all help burn calories throughout the day when you can’t dedicate a solid 40 minutes to working out.

Leave me your favorite “everyday” workout in the comment section below!!

Leave a Reply

