Prayers for Boston

I’m going to put aside my Teaching Tips today because I’m still processing and researching the events that happened yesterday at the finish line of the Boston Marathon. It seems like every year there’s some big tragedy(ies) that claims innocent peoples lives for no reason. When I was growing up, I can’t remember even one time that an event like this occurred until my freshman year of high school when the planes hit the Twin Towers.

Now while my sympathies go out to the families of those involved, I don’t think we should give the people responsible for this horrible act any attention right now. I think we should, as a nation, focus on getting the injured healed and recognize those who, in the midst of everyone else running from the scene, decided to flee towards it to help.

Being a military spouse, I understand (and know) many people that would do just that. To know that there were runners finishing and running towards to hospital to donate blood, police officers tearing down temporary fencing to get to victims, and civilians on the sidelines carrying the injured to medical tents warms my heart and makes me want to recognize these Everyday Heroes.

An Everyday Hero, to me, is a person who goes out of their way to help others in a time of need; not just in tragedy, but in everyday life. A person at the grocery who calms down a lost child and helps them find their parent. A volunteer helping out at a hospital to make others’ days brighter. A child who wants to donate the contents of their piggy bank to help those in need. These are the Everyday Heroes.

So a big “Thank You!” goes out to all of those people (civilian and civil servant) who helped amongst the chaos and who continue to help those affected during this, past, and future occasions. You have my utmost respect and admiration.

 

Leave a Reply

