Unconventional Teaching

I’m 25. I’m heading into my 5th year of teaching. I’m the proud holder of both a Bachelor’s and Master’s Degree. I also look like I’m 16 (or so I’m told when I get asked for my hall pass during my planning period….) 🙂 I’m still trying to figure out if I love or hate that fact… haha

I’m a proud, young teacher. I respect my veteran teachers and look to them for guidance on things like classroom management and content alignment.  I do wish, though, that some veteran teachers would look at me like I look at them; a resource for great new ideas.

Because I am young, and look even younger, I get brushed aside by many fellow teachers because (and I quote) “what could [I] know that they don’t already know….[they] have, after all, been teaching for 40-something years!”  And yes. That was said to me. Eeek!

Sometimes new ideas come from the people fresh out of school. I pride myself on coming up with activities that keep my students engaged and in touch with the technology they love. These kinds of things label me as an “unconventional” teacher. And I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Some examples of what I’m doing in my classes?

  • Wikispaces wiki pages
  • Culinary Scavenger Hunt 2013 through campus to find all of the ingredients to a recipe (all sanitary and packaged tightly!)
  • Writing lyrics to review information (
  • Learning games like Toss Up! and Bazinga! (tutorial to come)
  • Tweeting in class as an exit slip to leave class

The list goes on and on. Not only does it keep the kids on their toes, but it gives them something to look forward to when most of their classes are using lectures and note-taking as their primary way of teaching. I’m not saying that lectures and note-taking are obsolete, I use them too, but I think using something new and exciting helps the kids stay interested in their learning.

Here are a few things that I want to do next year in my (God willing) new classroom in Cali:

Fun First Day Homework Assignment

a

Classroom Rules using Memes
(click on link to see larger)

b

Reward/Leaving Class Cards

c

Happy Learning!

 

One thought on “Unconventional Teaching

Leave a Reply

