Incentives in the Classroom

I love incentives. By definition an incentive is “something that incites or tends to incite to action or greater effort, as a reward offered for increased productivity.” (Thank you dictionary.com!)

Kids need incentives. Think about it: when you were little you probably got some kind of allowance/extra privileges for doing chores. If you were good at the doctor, you got a lollipop or a sticker when you left. If you were reeeeeaaallllly good all year round, Santa/the Easter Bunny/St. Nick brought gifts! Even the tooth fairy left you money for loosing your teeth! Incentives work, people!

I love different kinds of incentives. Ones that motivate my kids to make good choices. Let me give you a few examples that I’ve found lately:

Homework Incentives – Keeping up with the Joneses

a

Not Using Your Cell Phone in Class Incentives

b

Staying Quiet During Classwork Incentives

All of these are new and fun ways to include incentives without being the teacher/parent that says “if you’re good, I’ll give you candy!”

I truly believe that we as a society need to stop rewarding bad behaviors, and instead enforce proper behaviors. I think all of these do exactly that. Your incentive is to make the right choice or there is a consequence. Be a good citizen because you can be. Use your force for good, not evil…wait…that’s for something else, right? 🙂

Happy Tuesday everyone! Leave me your favorite classroom/parenting incentive so I can add them to my ever-growing list!!

Leave a Reply

