Pinterest Post: Easy DIYs for the Spare Bedroom

Happy Thursday!! Can You believe it’ll be June in two days! Crazy how time flies!

If you read yesterday’s post about my Dream Master Suite, you’ll know that the countdown to Cali has begun! I am in full planning mode for decorating our new place, but if you need to know anything about me, it’s that I hate spending excessive amounts of money.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love quality products and am willing to pay for it, but I have paying so much for something I can easily make myself for a fraction of the cost! Cue Pinterest! I’ve been finding some great ideas for every room of the new apartment, but the office is going to be my most challenging endeavor. It is not only an office, but our guest bedroom, and all of our OSU paraphernalia is in that room (diplomas, graduation tassels, acting like big kids = office appropriate) .

My challenge is to make the design for the office/guest bedroom theme cohesive. I really don’t want to go this route

a  a

because I want our guests to feel at home in the room when they visit, but still need to be able to incorporate all of our college decor since there’s no other place that it’ll fit.

Here’s what we’ve got currently:

image2 image

Keep in mind, Jeff just blew up our air mattress and covered it to get an idea of how big the bed will be in the room. We now have an actual bed with a headboard, I just don’t have pictures of it yet!

This room need a LOT of help, though. The entire room needs a theme or inspiration to focus it. I’m thinking the overall feel for the theme will be Rustic & Red.

The first thing to go will be the brown bedding…too dark. We’ll switch it to clean white linens with DIY scarlet and gray throw pillows like these:

b

I’ll hang a huge DIY bulletin board like this one by Anne  the Adventurer on the wall next to the desk and move the small rolling organizer and bookshelf into the closet for tucked away storage!

a

Some DIY graphic prints in vintage wood frames by the desk will add a little personalized and rustic flair.

a c d

As you can tell by the photos of the room, you see that we have some beautiful real-wood furniture and decor made by family members. The wooden bench was made by one of Jeff’s uncles who has passed away and the lamp was made by my father. We also have a huge hanging bookshelf of similar color that has two buckeye leaves and a Block O carved into the surface that will hang above the desk. All of these elements will help really pull our smorgasbord room together! I’ll post pictures of the before and after as soon as I move and get everything done!

Leave a Reply

