Farmers Market Fun

Oh my goodness everyone! I think I’ve found my second home in San Diego! The Hillcrest Farmers Market is only open Sundays and boasts a quarter mile-or-so strip of Normal Street (yes, that’s the actual name!) full of produce, flowers, and locally made products!

My MIL and I got to the market about an hour after it opened and it was PACKED! There were hardly any parking spots to be found nearby and people packed the street. The first thing I saw when we got out of the car was a girl carrying the most beautiful bunch of sunflowers I had ever seen. I was in love instantly.

20130616-204022.jpg

We toured the ground stopping every so many stands to pick up carrots, celery, homemade pasta, and challah (be on the lookout for Challah French Toast tomorrow!!) There were samples of sweet pluots, pistachio brittle, and blood oranges. Street food of all kinds were everywhere allowing us to peek into the worlds of East African, Indian, and Spanish food. People were talking, smiling, laughing, and eating. Flowers were abundant and came in all kinds from roses to baby’s breath and lilies to orange-kissed sunflowers.

By the time we walked through the market I had purchased fingerling and purple potatoes, celery, onions, shallots, garlic, zucchini, carrots, green beans, challah, lemons, and Lemon Sage pasta. Here’s what it looked like when I brought it home:

20130616-203959.jpg

I divided it into bowls, one for the fridge and one for the counter to keep my veggies fresh.

20130616-204245.jpg

20130616-204308.jpg

I even whipped up some lunch using a few of our fresh ingredients: Lemon Sage Pasta and Zucchini Ribbons in Shallot White Wine Sauce. It was delish!

20130616-204014.jpg

If you’re ever in the San Diego area and like experiencing fresh, local food, I highly suggest you get up and hit the Hillcrest Farmers Market on Sundays at 9!

Leave a Reply

