If You Are What You Eat, Then Consider Me Bacon

I love bacon. I truly believe that it is one of God’s greatest gifts. Apologies to any vegetarians…I could never give up bacon.

20130823-065810.jpg
(Mmmmm…brown sugar bacon biscuits…)

But seriously, now, I’ve been seeing a bunch of posts from friends and acquaintances lately that have been talking about their weight loss goals. Most of them are starting some “wonder diet” that will get them down 30/40/250 pounds down in a month…like, really, guys?

Now I’m not bashing their want to get fit and healthy, but I feel like so many people are quick to jump on a drink/frozen meal/pill regiment and then get disappointed when the results reverse quickly after stopping the plan.

I saw a great quote the other day that said “Abs are made in the gym and seen in the kitchen.” How amazing is that?! It’s so true! Eating is the number one ticket to weight loss.

As I said before, I have a (probably unhealthy) obsession with bacon. It’s one of my all time favorite foods. With that being said though, I don’t eat it all the time. Mostly, I eat awesome things like this Rosemary and Garlic Salmon with Roasted Veggies…

20130823-065937.jpg

Can I share with you a secret to weight loss without feeling like you’re depriving yourself of your favorite foods? Everything in Moderation. It’s that simple. If you want ice cream, eat ice cream; but only have 1/2 cup or try for some low-cal frozen yogurt instead. You want chips? Great! Eat them! But follow the serving suggestion on the bag and stop there! Know your calorie intake and stick to it. Try keeping a food journal or tracking your intake on a cool app like My Fitness Pal. Splurge every now and then, but within limits. Yesterday we had takeout Chinese for dinner. Yummy? Definitely! Good for my health? Noooo way! But I went for a serious uphill run yesterday and ate consciously the rest of the day to make up for it!

Eating healthy and exercising consistently is hard work. I will not, for one second, downplay the strength and willpower it takes to succeed at this. It will be difficult. You will have to be conscious of everything you put into your body. But with time and hard work comes results!

20130823-070047.jpg

Do you have a favorite food that you could never give up? Tell me about it! Starting a new weight loss goal? I want to hear it! Looking for help or suggestions of healthy and delicious recipes? Get at me and I’ll send you some!

Happy weekend-ing! Eat well and deliciously!

Leave a Reply

