Starting New Adventures

Having missed the past couple weeks, this is going to be a big post, but filled with big news and changes. Prepare yourself πŸ™‚ it’s about to get real.

Have you ever been put in a situation that makes you appreciate everything you have and everything you want in life?

Has some event or discussion made you really realize what you want and motivate you to set new goals for your life?

Has a fire ever been lit under your butt so hot in an instant that you become overwhelmed at the thought of it all?

That’s all happening to me.

Not so much in the “someone I love is in bad health” kind of way (thank goodness and knock on wood!) but more in the “it’s time to buckle down and get serious about life” kind of way.

Jeff and I have been talking about our wants and goals for our life together lately; and let me tell you, I am so grateful to have such a strong, supportive, encouraging partner in life. I won’t get into specifics, but we have come to realize that what we do now in terms of spending, health, and planning, will directly affect how soon we can start working towards bigger goals for our lives.

Here are our top goals as a couple:
1. Pay off our debt (both cars and our college loans, totaling around $70K, give or take)
2. Build a large savings
3. Invest in our future (retirement, college funds, etc)
4. Buy a house
5. Start a family

As you can see, we kind of need to accomplish the first few before we can work on the last two. And the real conundrum is that with many things in life, we can’t have our cake and eat it too. We are looking for ways to increase our income and/or decrease our spending so that we can accomplish our goals faster. That suggests that I either get a second job to make up the difference of what I would be making if I were teaching or we can seriously cut our budget down by moving to a cheaper apartment or cutting out all unnecessary spending. Yikes! See what I mean about overwhelming?! Breathe, Lisa, Breathe.

On top of that, I have a few goals I would like to accomplish personally as well (in no particular order):
1. Reach and maintain my goal weight of 125-130 lbs.
2. Blog and reach 100+ followers
3. Get both of our pups certified to be therapy dogs

I think I’ve bitten off more than I can chew. But on the other hand, my goals kind of coincide with our goals as a couple right? If I’m working towards better health, training the dogs, and blogging, we aren’t spending money. Win, win?

So here’s what’s going to happen. Every day on the blog will be something different. There won’t be pre-planned posts with themes. It’ll just be me, updating you on the good, the bad, and the ugly of what’s happening. Hopefully, most of it will be positive! It’ll be real pictures of us, (like this one of me napping with the pups this weekend)

20130923-090136.jpg
, real stories of our experiences, and real accounts of what works and what doesn’t. Sometimes I’ll throw in a fun post about our home or a product I’m totally in love with, but mostly it’ll be about life.

I would love to have you all as my accountability partners. I would love if you will keep me on my game and keep pushing me forward. I’d love to help you get motivated to reach your goals by sharing and commenting and talking about what we are doing in our household to make our dreams come true.

If you like this idea of things being unplanned and honest and scary and real, comment!(I could totally use the positive vibes right now!)

If I’ll lose you as a reader because you like the way things are going, comment! and I’ll do my best to do two posts per day. I won’t know if you don’t tell me though!

I want you guys to want to read this blog. I would love your feedback, negative and positive. You all are the reason I keep blogging and my inspiration to share my ideas.

So, yea.

There’s my current life story. It’s scary. I’m kind of, maybe, very nervous. I’m also kind of, maybe, super awesomely excited for the things to come. I hope you’re all with me during this adventure. Big things are coming, and I have a feeling they’re going to be very, very good πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Starting New Adventures

  1. Pingback: Changes up ahead! | The Wife Life

Leave a Reply

