Wardrobe Check: the importance of looking put together

It’s a sad truth that we are judged daily on the way we look. I’d love to say that our world was full of people who only see you on the “inside,” but we are all guilty of seeing the outside of a person as our first impression of them.

I don’t get dressed up every day and enjoy my yoga pants as much as the next girl, but besides taking my pups to go potty, I will not be seen outside of my house in them.

Here’s how I see it: I could care less how a stranger sees me. What I do care about is how I see myself. Let me tell you a little story.

Through my four years of undergrad, I got up and dressed every day. Now, before you get all “I don’t have time for that” on me, know that 90% of the time, getting dressed meant jeans and a hoodie. I did, however, go to class once in a pair of sweatpants and a sweatshirt. And you know what? I felt tired, gross, and unfocused through the whole thing. I would have been better off staying in bed that day. The simple task of changing out of your PJs and into something a little nicer can alter your entire day.

Let me give you an example:

How long does it take you to put on a pair of yoga pants, a t-shirt, and tennis shoes. Add in a ponytail, light makeup, and body spray. Ten minutes? Maybe a little less?

Now tell me how long it takes you to throw on a pair of fitted jeans, a button down shirt, a necklace, and sandals; that same ponytail, light makeup, and perfume? Ten minutes? Maybe less?

Let faces it, ladies (and some gents too!), it can take us just as long to look like we rolled out of bed, or to look polished and ready to take on the day.

Here are a few of my favorite “throw together” looks from my closet:

20131105-074346.jpg

20131105-074352.jpg

20131105-074356.jpg

20131105-074400.jpg

Even dressing up can be quick and easy with a simple cotton dress and a cardigan!

Here are my staples as shown above to having a quick and easy mix-and-match wardrobe:
– button down shirts (I love my J.Crew and LOFT ones!)
– great fitting jeans (GAP jeans are pricey, but my faves)
– a great blazer (this khaki and a matching black one are from Express)
– a statement necklace or two (LOFT, Forever XXI, and J.Crew Outlet all have great ones!)
– skinny belts ( Target, Target, Target! Every color, every material, and super cheap!)
– a cotton dress (LOFT)
– cardigans (Target and LOFT have the best, I think)

All layerable and easy to put on in an instant! No matter which way you wear these items, you’re sure to be out the door quickly and look like you spent hours getting ready! Don’t worry, you’re secret is safe with me 😉

2 thoughts on “Wardrobe Check: the importance of looking put together

    • Great point! In my opinion, so many people assume it takes time to look put together, so they choose not to. If only we all knew that it could be quick and easy! But sometimes, I can’t get my mind around getting dressed up either 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

