Making Treasure from Trash (and other household hacks)

One thing most of you guys know about me is that I love decorating my home. Hopefully soon, we will have a home that we own to decorate as well (yay for no more renting in the future!)

Another thing you may know about me is that I hate spending more money than I have to on home decor. Just check out our curtain fiasco in my previous Around the House post here

So I have vowed to take thrift store finds or other inexpensive home decor and make it into the best declarations ever! Here’s what I mean:

IKEA hacks

20131206-191808.jpg

Ikeahackers is a great resource for DIY projects from items that can be bought from IKEA and upgraded to look more unique and expensive.

Thrift Store Treasures

20131206-192247.jpg

Not only are thrift stores like Goodwill, AMVETS, and The Salvation Army great causes to donate your gently used and unwanted items, but they are usually a great place to find one of a kind and vintage pieces that are great on their own or spruced up to become something new! I found a great set of three pillar candle stands at Goodwill for $10 for the set! Super Steal!

The blog Pennies and Blessings (photo credit) also has a great list of things to look for!

Flea Market Finds

20131206-192638.jpg

See my post all about my best friend’s amazing Flea Market Finds here!

Let’s hear about your favorite thrifty home decor! Share your stories below!

Leave a Reply

