GWC Day 20 – Side Effect Sun Tan

Morning Weight – 145.1
Pounds to Goal – 20.1

Workout – 5.07 mile interval run around the neighborhood. With views like this, it went fast, but the heat got me a bit in the end.

20140308-193648.jpg

So I’ve realized a few things over these past 20 days:
1. The body is an amazing thing. Although I haven’t lost much weight, my legs feel and look stronger, I’m not constantly tired (unless the pups wake me up at 3 am…cough*they’re-lucky-I-love-them*cough), and my cravings have gone down significantly

2. The clothes I workout in have a big impact on how hard I try. When I first started, old shirts and shorts were my outfit of choice. I walked a lot. I didn’t push myself. I didn’t see results.
Today, though, I wore a cute new top and a pair of running shorts and it made me feel like a real runner….you know, like those cute, size 2 girls who always have adorable workout gear running like they are gliding on a cloud while I’m over here stomping the ground praying that my knees don’t give….anywho, since I felt cute and “official looking”, I tried to push myself to keep running when my body/mind said to stop, even if it was just a few more feet. The cars passing me by or watching me at stop lights helped me keep going too…don’t want to look like a slacker!

3. There are some awesome side effects to running outside when you live in a warm-all-year-round climate like I do: I’m getting an awesome golden tan!!! Yep! You heard me! ME, the red-haired, fair skinned, never tans without burning to a crisp first girl is getting a golden tan! Yippeeeeeee!

4. My diet really makes all the difference. Although I am happy with my slow progress so far, if I were eating as clean as I should be, I’d probably be a lot further at this stage. I think that because I know I only need to lose 2.2 lbs a month to reach my goal of 125 by December 1st, I’m letting myself eat some splurge foods, like, you know, the 25 baked tater tots I had with dinner instead of the baked sweet potato and cauliflower I had planned.

side note: I’m blaming Jeff for the tater tot thing. He was the one who bought the 4 lb bag months ago…who needs to have 4lbs of tater tots in the house for 2 people?!?!

All in all, I’m happy and healthy and motivated to keep trucking, so that’s all I can ask for…oh and for the dogs to let me sleep for a full 8 hours, but that’s just me dreaming 🙂

Gnight ya’ll. Put in some miles tomorrow. It’ll be worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

