GWC Day 31 – PB Cup Brownies

Hey guys! Today I decided to do things a little different and give my legs a rest for one day since my race is coming up in 4 days and my knee was giving me grief at the end of my 5.5 miles yesterday.

So instead of running, Today’s workout included arm circuits with my resistance band. I also did a few sets of back strengthening stretches and resistance bicycles to increase my core strength.

And what did I do to reward myself for sticking with my workout for a whole month and in celebration of my race coming up? I made myself some brownies. Rich, fudgy, chocolate brownies.

And that’s not even the best part. They’re Peanut Butter Cup Brownies. Peanut butter + chocolate? Get in my belly NOW!!!

20140319-202721.jpg

Now before you go all “Lisa. this is why you aren’t losing weight!!! Fatty….” you need to know that my brownies are healthy. Like Raw Food, clean eating healthy!

These brownies are Full of fiber and protein and still manage to be deliciously chocolatey. Here’s the recipe:

Raw PB Cup Brownies (modified from Scaling Back)

Ingredients
1.5 cups walnuts
1/2 cup oats (any kind will do)
1 cup raw, unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon Sea Salt
16 oz. fresh dates, pitted (I found mine at Trader Joes for under $5)
2 Tbsp. All Natural Peanut Butter (only peanuts and salt in the ingredient list if possible)
Optional: Melted Peanut Butter to drizzle on top

Directions
1. In a food processor, pulse walnuts and oats until they form a fine powder.
2. Add in cocoa powder and sea salt and pulse to combine.
3. With the food processor running, drop in the pitted dates, one at a time, until all are added and mixture is crumbly, but presses together when pinched (think playdough consistency)
4. Add in peanut butter and mix to combine.
5. Line a square baking pan with wax paper or nonstick foil and firmly press brownie mixture evenly into pan.
6. Refrigerate overnight or freeze for 1 hour to help it firm up. This makes slicing them waaaaaay easier, trust me.
7. Remove brownies from pan and cut into 12-16 squares. These are really rich and decadent so you won’t want them much bigger!
8. If you would like, drizzle melted peanut butter over the top before serving. Refrigerate for 10 minutes to help the PB firm up.

Before

20140319-203812.jpg

After

20140319-203719.jpg

Way better, right? Yes is the only answer to that rhetorical question…

Please, please, please try this recipe ASAP! Coming from a picky eater, these are AMAZING and well worth the effort (if you can even call it that…)

Let me know what you think!

20140319-203840.jpg

3 thoughts on “GWC Day 31 – PB Cup Brownies

  1. Pingback: GWC Day 38 – Cravings & Goal Modification | The Wife Life

  2. Pingback: GWC Day 39 – First Goal Reached! | The Wife Life

Leave a Reply

