GWC DAY 47/48/49 – injuries suck

Hey all! Sorry I’ve been absent the past couple days! I’ve been nursing a hurt left ankle…

On Friday, I went out for a run with the baby I watch and after about 2.5 miles, my left ankle started to ache to the point that I felt as if I could not run without hurting myself. I also postponed my Day 12 BodyRock workout since Saturday and Sunday were labelled as “active rest days” on my schedule. The way I saw it, resting my ankle for a day should’ve been enough to get it back to where I could run.

(Cue ironic laughter here…) I should’ve known better.

When I got up on Saturday, my ankle was still achy enough that it made going up and down steps uncomfortable. I decided that I would go for a nice, slow walk to get in my miles. No excuses for missing miles!!! When I got to my usual running start point, I decided that I would at least attempt running to see how I felt. Needless to say, I felt little pain so I ran the whole 3.1 miles that I had scheduled. I felt fine and was proud of myself for pushing myself to run in the end.

That is, until I stopped to go inside. I don’t think it has ever taken me so long to climb 12 stairs…I was hurting. I iced my foot/ankle with a bag of frozen edamame (yum!) but vowed to get an ankle brace for it Sunday.

So today I grabbed a firm (walking) and medium support (running) ankle brace. I’ve been pretty sore all day, but still the pups on our 3 mile walk. I’m going to be completing the Day 12 workout just replacing the jumping/cardio sections with weight training to give my ankle a low-impact workout.

Phew! That’s a lot of storytelling! Anywho, morale of the story: injuries suck, especially when you were just getting into a niche of comfortable/enjoyable running! This week I will be running as much as I can and hiiting my workouts hard and have a clean dinner planned for each night! Wish me luck for a quick recovery!

Leave a Reply

