Creating an In-Home Spa

Harsh reality: I only have two more months to enjoy my 3 soaking tub-clad bathrooms that have been transformed from “ho-hum” to “oh wow!”

Photo proof? Got it.
Before

20150107-152756-55676258.jpg

After

20150107-152822-55702418.jpg

20150107-152822-55702269.jpg

See what I mean? We DIYed it all; Ripped out the fiberglass surrounds, installed gorgeous porcelain tile, restained cabinets, framed mirrors, installed built in medicine cabinets, got new lights, and painted the rooms light gray. I can feel the calm just describing it!

So now what makes the perfect in-home spa? I think it varies for everyone.

My perfect slice of relaxation heaven? Lots of candles, bath oil or a bath bomb, and spa music (thanks Spa Radio on Pandora!). Follow that with painting my nails and doing my hair and I’d have to say….
You’re dreaming! Who has that much time? šŸ˜‰

20150107-160957-58197458.jpg

But in all seriousness, take some time to spoil yourself. Enjoy an in-Home spa experience with some of these products and instructables!

Bath Bombs
LUSH – I cannot wait to splurge on some of these bath bombs and bubble bars! I’ve heard amazing things, though I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little afraid of the color dying my tub…any of you have experience with LUSH bath products? Ease my worries please!

DIY it! Naturally Martha Stewart knows how! She has great tips on where to find ingredients and a great cocktail of fragrance options!

Bubbles

My favorite way of getting the light layer of bubbles I love is with Neutrogena’s Body Oil. Go easy, as a little of this sesame-based oil goes a loooooong way. If you overdo it, you could climb out of the bath smelling a bit like your fave Chinese take-out.

DIY it! This recipe from Live Laugh Rowe sounds super luxe! With easy ingredients and directions, this would make a perfect gift for others….or yourself!

Burn, Baby, Burn! Candles, that is.

Don’t get me started on my love for all things scented. My home is filled with Glade/Febreeze candles (keeps the rooms smelling neutral and fresh) and it’s a good thing my husband keeps me in check and doesn’t let me roam unattended in the candle section of any store. If you asked, though, my fave brands for spa-time are Voluspa for Anthropologie (whichever scent fits your mood) and my wedding candle (shown above) from World Market that’s submerged in coffee beans that fills my bathroom with a Madagascar Vanilla and Coffee Bean scent that is oh-so-intoxicatingly-subtle.

DIY it! Live Simply has combined my fave scent ever (rosemary, mmmm) and has spa-ed it with the addition of lavender into an amazingly rich soy candle. I think when I make this I might just add in a bit of lemon zest to really make it my own!

Some DIY extras for fun? Why not! Indulge!
Vanilla Rose Body Scrub
Whipped Body Butter
Vanilla Bath Salts
Cocoa Butter Bath Truffles

What products do you love to achieve an in-home spa experience? Leave me a comment below!

One thought on “Creating an In-Home Spa

Leave a comment